A Bike-ride to Remember

On Sunday I got up early and caught the train with some friends to bike along the Lilydale to Warburton trail.
Due to track work, we had to catch two trains and a bus to get there, but the trip seemed to fly by due to the awesome company.
When we arrived, we met a couple more friends and waited for another.

It was around 12 when we got on our bikes and headed to the track. We rode for about an hour and half and had a lovely picnic lunch. Shan brought along this tasty spicy tofu which went nicely with the noodle stir-fry I brought along. I also brought along custard squares which I rushed to make that morning… they looked a bit of a mess after being bumped around in the back of my bike, but still tasted yum!
It was a rather hot day… it was the first day of the Melbourne heatwave in which we are currently melting! It’s currently 41 degrees outside!
And my excuse for not wearing a helmet for most of our ride along the trail was because it was so hot and I felt much cooler without it. I got to enjoy the wind through my hair until…
… Later that afternoon while I was riding back, I fell off my bike face first into the dirt… it was actually rather funny at the time and Shan, who was with me, watched me make a fool of myself and then laughed along with me, as well as making me feel better of course! We were still about 4 km away at this point and biking/walking back was a bit of a struggle. The lesson I learnt was to be extra safe while riding down a hill and make sure you wear a helmet!

Most of us who biked that day went about 30 km. Some even went a little more!
Next time we head out that way, we should seriously try to ride the entire trail from Lilydale to Warburton (40 km)… and back (80 km all up!).
What an action packed day…

Wear Your Helmet

Wear Your Helmet

Magnificent Mel

Magnificent Mel

the Lilydale to Warburton trail.

the Lilydale to Warburton trail.

the Lilydale to Warburton trail.

the Lilydale to Warburton trail

All the cool kids tuck their socks over their pant

All the cool kids tuck their socks over their pants

Cute Corey

Cute Corey

Sun-block Warrior Rory

Sun-block Warrior Rory

the Lilydale to Warburton trail.

the Lilydale to Warburton trail.

the Lilydale to Warburton trail.

Wild Apples

Wild Apples

Mighty Myke

Mighty Myke

the Lilydale to Warburton trail.

Super Shan

Super Shan

Natural Nadine

Natural Nadine

Awesome Spicy Tofu

Awesome Spicy Tofu

the Lilydale to Warburton trail.

Joyful  Jo

Joyful Jo

the Lilydale to Warburton trail.

Custard Slice with Pineapple & Passionfruit

Custard Slice with Pineapple & Passionfruit

Elegant Emma

Elegant Emma

Echidna

Echidna

Wild Plums

Wild Plums

the Lilydale to Warburton trail.

SONY DSC

Silly Missy

Silly Missy

SONY DSC

Super-Fly Skye and Mel

Super-Fly Skye and Mel

Remember to be safe kids! Always wear a helmet when your on your bike.

love missy

Leave a Reply

