Ride Bikes Not Horses.

Today I went for a bike ride with Melanie to the Melbourne Royal Botanical Gardens, they are beautiful! I’ve never been there before, but I’m very much looking forward to going back! It was relaxing to sit in the gardens after our bike ride. Myke, Sun and Alex joined us there for a while.

It was 32 degrees today! I got a bit burnt and certainly didn’t drink as near as much water as I should! But I wasn’t so concerned about that, what I am concerned about are the poor horses we saw (and didn’t see) on the road today! With no access to water in the heat of the day pulling people around the city… it breaks my heart that the majority of people don’t think twice about the unnatural and captive state these intelligent creatures are in! Why must we treat animals as objects? Why can’t we be happy to let them live free in the open like they should, instead of being chained and whipped, being forced to work 12 hours a day! Not being truly loved, just being used to make money. I would hate to be treated like that and I can’t imagine how miserable they feel. On many different occasions, I see horses who are on the same carriage showing each other signs of affection and it tears me apart. I just want to give them the freedom they deserve, but I feel helpless. What can I do?! What can I do that will make a difference to the lives of these beautiful creatures? Melanie got abused by the horse driver for speaking her mind, and he replied by asking us if we wanted to race him! The people in the carriage were rude enough to say to us that we ate cows and wore leather, so what is the difference?!!! Some people just don’t have common sense or compassion!

One place to start is this Facebook group I found Carriage Horse Cruelty… definitely worth checking out…

If there is this form of legal animal abuse in your city, you can send a letter to your council or go into your council office and tell them how shocked you are at the way these animals are enslaved and mistreated and that it needs to be banned! We live in 2014, not the dark ages! There are plenty of other transport options with which to enjoy the concrete jungle without supporting cruelty!

Ride a bike, not a horse!

fruit trees

beauty qoute

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Mel With The Home-grown Yellow Zucchini She Gave Me

Mel With The Home-grown Yellow Zucchini She Gave Me

I Cannot Believe We Are Treat Animals With No Respect!!!

This Must Be Banned!!!

Life Is Miserable. How Can I Free These Horses?

What A Miserable Life. How Can I Help These Horses?

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

Melanie & Me At The Gardens

Melanie & Me At The Gardens

Myke, Mel & Sun

Myke, Mel & Sun

Hug A Tree

Hug A Tree

bf

Home-made Miso Bean Pattie

Home-made Miso Bean Pattie

Miso Bean Pattie

400g tin of Chickpeas (drain the liquid)
400g tin of Lima Beans (drain the liquid)
x2 400g tins of Borlotti Beans (drain the liquid)
1 1/2 cups grated Carrot
1 cup of chopped Mushrooms
1/4 cup of chopped Chives
2 chopped Green Chilli
3 tablespoons of Vegan Miso paste (a lot of miso has fish in it!)
1/4 teaspoon of Tumeric
2/3 cup of Flour (wheat or gluten-free)

Preheat oven to 160 degrees.
Mix all of the ingredients up apart from the flour, add that in last through a sieve, mix well.
I then used a 1/4 cup to measure out the mixture and place on to a lined tray.
Cook for 20mins then flip the patties over and cook for another 20mins.
Makes around 15 patties

SONY DSC

I Got A Little Sun Burnt

I’ve been listening to this song over and over tonight … Slow Show

Storm

Storm

I want equality for all! I want to live in a vegan world!

love missy

Leave a Reply

